clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Orlando City’s Yoshimar Yotún Selected to 2018 MLS All-Star Team

Yotún selected by Tata Martino as part of the MLS All-Star team to face Juventus in Atlanta.

MLS: New York Red Bulls at Orlando City SC Reinhold Matay-USA TODAY Sports

After no Orlando City players were part of the fan selection for the MLS All-Star Fan XI, Atlanta United Head Coach Gerardo “Tata” Martino selected Yoshimar Yotún as part of the 27-player roster that will face Juventus on Aug. 1. Yoshi is the only Orlando City player to receive the honor this season.

The starting 11 players were voted in by fans and MLS Commissioner Don Garber selected two more — Bradley Wright-Phillips and Alphonso Davies. Martino completed the roster by selecting 14 additional players.

Yotún is currently coming back from international duty with Peru and has been a vital part of Orlando City’s team this season. While the Lions are currently on a seven-game losing streak, Yoshi was not part of the team for all but one of those games. Yotún has played, and started, in 10 games this season, scoring three goals and adding five assists.

The 28-year-old is the fourth Lion to ever be selected to participate in the MLS All-Star Game. Kaká was part of the team in 2015, 2016, and 2017, scoring a goal with an assist and grabbing MVP honors in 2015. Cyle Larin joined Kaká in 2016 as the All-Stars took on Arsenal, and Dom Dwyer found the back of the net against Real Madrid last season after being acquired from Sporting Kansas City.

This year’s All-Star Game is in Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta against the Serie A winners.

2018 MLS All-Star Team Roster by Position

Goalkeepers: Brad Guzan (Atlanta United), Zack Steffen (Columbus Crew SC).

Defenders: Francisco Calvo (Minnesota United), Laurent Ciman (Los Angeles Football Club), Alphonso Davies (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Aaron Long (New York Red Bulls), Michael Murillo (New York Red Bulls), Michael Parkhurst (Atlanta United), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City).

Midfielders: Miguel Almirón (Atlanta United), Ezequiel Barco (Atlanta United), Jonathan dos Santos (LA Galaxy), Alberth Elis (Houston Dynamo), Ignacio Piatti (Montreal Impact), Alexander Ring (New York City FC), Ilie Sanchez (Sporting Kansas City), Diego Valeri (Portland Timbers), Yoshimar Yotún (Orlando City SC), Wilfried Zahibo (New England Revolution).

Forwards: Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC), Zlatan Ibrahimović (LA Galaxy), Josef Martínez (Atlanta United), Carlos Vela (Los Angeles Football Club), David Villa (New York City FC), Bradley Wright-Phillips (New York Red Bulls).