clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Orlando Pride Full 2017 NWSL Schedule Announced

New, 1 comment

The Pride’s second season will include two doubleheaders with Orlando City B in the new Orlando City Stadium.

Matt Starkey, The Mane Land

The NWSL announced the league’s full 2017 NWSL schedule today, more than a week after announcing all of the teams’ opening games. We already knew the Orlando Pride would open the season at the Portland Thorns on Saturday, April 15, and kick off the home slate against the Washington Spirit on Saturday, April 22. Now we know the rest of the schedule, which concludes on Sept. 30 at North Carolina Courage.

The 2017 schedule will include 24 regular-season games, with 12 each on the road and at home in the new Orlando City Stadium downtown. Eight of the Pride’s first 13 matches are away from home, making the start of the season difficult for Tom Sermanni’s squad, particularly without striker Alex Morgan for the first part of the year. The Pride will hopefully be able to dig out of any hole in the back half of the schedule, with two three-game home stands after August 1, and six of the final nine matches in the friendly confines.

Orlando will face Washington, North Carolina, Chicago, FC Kansas City, Sky Blue FC, and Boston three times each, and the remaining teams twice apiece – once at home and once away. The Pride will host Boston, Chicago, and Washington twice, playing each of those teams on the road once, but will travel twice each to Sky Blue, Kansas City, and North Carolina, welcoming those clubs to the City Beautiful just once apiece.

The 2017 slate is a fan friendly one, with 10 of the 12 home dates on Saturday, one on a Sunday and one on Tuesday. August will be the team’s busiest month, with five total games, including three in a row at home in an eight-day span from Aug. 5-12 against Chicago, Washington, and Sky Blue FC.

Notably, the Pride will be part of two club doubleheaders in 2017. The 5 p.m. matches on July 1 against Chicago Red Stars and Sept. 23 against Portland Thorns FC will be followed by Orlando City B facing USL rivals FC Cincinnati and Charleston Battery, respectively.

Here is the entire Pride schedule for 2017:

2017 Orlando Pride Schedule

Date Opponent Venue Kickoff (ET)
Date Opponent Venue Kickoff (ET)
Sat., April 15 Portland Providence Park 3 p.m.
Sat., April 22 Washington Orlando City Stadium 4 p.m.
Sat., April 29 North Carolina WakeMed Soccer Park 4 p.m.
Sun., May 7 FC Kansas City Swope Soccer Village 6 p.m.
Sun., May 14 North Carolina Orlando City Stadium 5 p.m.
Sun., May 21 Seattle Memorial Stadium 9:30 p.m.
Sat., May 27 Sky Blue FC Yurcak Field 7 p.m.
Sat., June 3 Boston Orlando City Stadium 7:30 p.m.
Sat., June 17 Houston BBVA Compass Stadium 8:30 p.m.
Sat., June 24 Houston Orlando City Stadium 4 p.m.
Wed., June 28 Sky Blue FC Yurcak Field 7 p.m.
Sat., July 1 Chicago Orlando City Stadium 5 p.m.
Sat., July 8 Washington Maryland SoccerPlex 4 p.m.
Sat. July 15 FC Kansas City Orlando City Stadium 7:30 p.m.
Sat., July 22 Chicago Toyota Park 4 p.m.
Sat., Aug. 5 Chicago Orlando City Stadium 7:30 p.m.
Tues., Aug. 8 Washington Orlando City Stadium 7:30 p.m.
Sat., Aug. 12 Sky Blue FC Orlando City Stadium 4 p.m.
Sat., Aug. 19 Boston Jordan Field 4 p.m.
Sat., Aug. 26 FC Kansas City Swope Soccer Village 4 p.m.
Sat., Sept. 2 Boston Orlando City Stadium 4 p.m.
Sat., Sept. 9 Seattle Orlando City Stadium 4 p.m.
Sat., Sept. 23 Portland Orlando City Stadium 5 p.m.
Sat., Sept. 30 North Carolina WakeMed Soccer Park 7:30 p.m.