clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Orlando City Midfielder Kaká Voted to MLS All-Star Fan XI

Despite missing eight of 17 games, the Lions’ captain has earned the votes of the fans.

MLS: All-Star Game Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

Orlando City midfielder and captain Kaká has been selected to the 2016 MLS All-Star Fan XI. That doesn’t mean the Brazilian has a guaranteed spot in the 2016 MLS All-Star Game, however. The votes these players received will be taken into consideration in the final consideration for the 22-man roster.

Fans voted for Orlando’s star man despite the fact that he’s played in only nine of City’s 17 matches so far this season, battling a variety of nagging soft tissue injuries in his 34-year-old legs. It would be easy to suggest that the captain isn’t deserving of an All-Star nod given that he’s missed nearly half the team’s games, but when he’s made the lineup, Kaká has been productive. With three goals and five assists this season, Kaká has figured in nearly a goal per game.

The Brazilian is tied for third in team goals, tied for first in assists, and is third in shots (27) and shots on goal (11). Last season, Kaká scored a goal and assisted on another en route to the 2015 All-Star Game MVP award in a 2-1 win over Tottenham Hotspur in Colorado.

Here are the full results of the Fan XI, with 10 of the 11 players voted in and one, NYCFC forward David Villa, selected via the AT&T/EA Sports "More Than a Vote" Challenge:

Goalkeeper: Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union).

Defenders: Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Laurent Ciman (Montreal Impact), Keegan Rosenberry (Philadelphia Union).

Midfielders: Kaká (Orlando City SC), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Andrea Pirlo (New York City FC), Giovani dos Santos (LA Galaxy).

Forwards: Didier Drogba (Montreal Impact), Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC), David Villa (New York City FC – AT&T/EA Sports "More Than a Vote" Challenge).

The MLS All-Stars will square off against English Premier League side Arsenal FC on Thursday, July 28 at Avaya Stadium in San Jose, CA, at 7:30 pm ET.