clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Lion Links: 12/6/16

Cyle Larin and Alex Morgan receive recognition, a new Mexican women's league in the works, Chapecoense news, and Adrian Heath insight.

Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

Happy Tuesday! We've got your daily dose of Lion Links, so sit back and enjoy.

Cyle Larin Best Rookie in MLS History?

FourFourTwo created a list of the best rookies in Major League Soccer history ahead of the MLS Cup this weekend, with star rookie Jordan Morris set to go for Seattle. Morris is high on FFT's list after becoming the second player in league history this season to win the MLS Rookie of the Year as a Homegrown Player, scoring 12 goals. Damani Ralph, another UConn Husky like Larin, is included, but you'll have to read to see where they all rank in relation to Orlando City's Canadian striker, who broke out with 17 goals in 2015 as a rookie.

The Mane Land Provides Insight on Adrian Heath

Several days ago, the staff at E Pluribus Loonum, the Minnesota United SB Nation site, reached out to The Mane Land for some perspective on what it is like to have Adrian Heath as a manager. Our fearless leader, Michael Citro, was able to answer questions regarding the attitude of the club towards Heath, the weirdest thing Heath ever said/did, and the three essential items to have in a "Heath is your manager" survival kit. Make sure to check out his answers to these questions and more.

Alex Morgan Up for U.S. Soccer Player of the Year

Both the U.S. Men's and Women's National Teams have announced the finalists for their 2016 Player of the Year awards. The male nominees include Jozy Altidore, Clint Dempsey, Bobby Wood, Michael Bradley, and Geoff Cameron. The female nominees include Crystal Dunn, Tobin Heath, Carli Lloyd, Becky Sauerbrunn, and our very own Alex Morgan. The male winners will be announced on Dec. 9 during the FOX Sports special MLS Cup preview at 10 p.m. ET, and the female winners will be announced Dec. 11. Additionally, the nominees for Young Player of the Year were also announced, including Andrew Carleton, Jordan Morris, Christian Pulisic, and Cameron Carter-Vickers for the men's side and Emily Ogle, Andi Sullivan, Kaleigh Riehl, Karina Rodriguez, and Ashley Sanchez for the women's side.

Fallen Brazilian Team Named Tournament Champions

Brazilian soccer club Chapecoense has been awarded the Copa Sudamericana Championship trophy, following the tragic plane crash on the way to the final of the tournament. The South American Football Confederation announced that the team would receive the trophy and all of the sportive and economic rewards that accompany it. They will receive $2 million in prize money and qualify for multiple other tournaments, representing the Copa Sudamericana. The idea was brought on by Atlético Nacional, the Colombian team scheduled to play Chapecoense. They filed a petition requesting that the win go to the Brazilian team and, as a result, were award $1 million for fair play.

Liga MX Confirms Women's League

Liga MX has announced that it plans to establish a women's league beginning in 2017. The setup for the league will include 21 roster spots with four set aside for U-17 players and four for over 23, the remaining players must be in the U-23 program. International players will not be allowed to play though Mexican-Americans are able to play, per FIFA regulations.

That's it for today, enjoy your Tuesday and go Lions!