clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Orlando City B Overhauls Inaugural Roster, Announces End of Season Roster Cuts

Orlando City B has gutted its roster following its first season in USL.

Matt Starkey - The Mane Land

Orlando City B, the Lions’ USL club, announced today that it will be bringing back just five players from the side’s inaugural roster next season.

OCB captain Lewis Neal, midfielder Pierre Da Silva and forward Michael Cox will return to the team on existing contracts for the 2017 season, while defender Zach Ellis-Hayden and goalkeeper Jake Fenlason were signed to new contracts, pending USL and federation approval.

Orlando Sentinel reporter Alicia DelGallo first reported the roster moves.

OCB was the only of Orlando City’s three clubs — including the Orlando Pride — to make the playoffs in 2016, sneaking into the USL playoffs as a No. 8 seed in the Eastern Conference. The club got off to a slow start to begin the year, but was able to put things together midseason under first-year coach Anthony Pulis to make the playoffs.

“I'd like to thank the guys who are moving on for all their hard work and the way they represented OCB so well to help us reach the playoffs in our inaugural season,” Pulis said in a statement from the club. “I have great respect for all of them and wish them the best of luck in their future endeavors.”

Declined contract options include: William Eyang, Alejandro Garcia, Antonio Matarazzo, Kyle McFadden, Johnny Mendoza, Craig Nitti, Marius Obekop, Andrew Ribeiro, Mark Ridgers, Keegan Smith.