clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Orlando Pride Exercise Options on 10 Players, Extend New Offers to Six Others

Just about everyone on the club’s inaugural season-ending roster seems to be coming back for 2017.

Carlos Romero, The Mane Land

The Orlando Pride took care of some off-season business today, exercising the options on 10 players, offering new contracts to six others, and declining the option on backup goalkeeper Kaitlyn Savage.

The club picked up the options on forwards Christina Burkenroad, Lisa De Vanna, and Sarah Hagen; midfielders Kristen Edmonds, Dani Weatherholt, and Sam Witteman; and defenders Laura Alleway, McKenzie Berryhill, Monica, and Cami Levin. The Pride extended new offers to goalkeeper Aubrey Bledsoe; defenders Steph Catley and Toni Pressley; midfielder Maddy Evans; and forwards Jamia Fields and Jasmyne Spencer.

In addition, forward Alex Morgan, goalkeeper Ashlyn Harris, midfielder Kaylyn Kyle, and defender Josée Bélanger will remain with Orlando in 2017 as Federation Players.

That leaves Savage and the retiring Becky Edwards as the only Pride players (so far) that will be leaving from the club’s inaugural season-ending roster. Savage is one of 13 players made available on the NWSL Re-Entry Wire. The Re-Entry Wire window opened at 1 p.m. this afternoon and will close at 1 p.m. tomorrow. Teams have until then to put in a claim for a player.

Here are the Re-Entry Wire players:

In the event a player is requested by more than one team, that player will be awarded to the team with the lower finish during the 2016 NWSL regular season. Once a team claims a player from waivers via the tie-breaker, it is moved to the bottom of the order for all future waiver sessions for the remainder of the off-season.

Re-Entry Wire Tiebreaker Order

Boston Breakers
Orlando Pride
Houston Dash
Sky Blue FC
FC Kansas City
Seattle Reign FC
Western New York Flash
Chicago Red Stars
Washington Spirit
Portland Thorns FC