clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Turner, Rochez Make U-20 CONCACAF Championships Rosters

Tommy Redding wasn't as fortunate, but Orlando City SC will have two players representing their countries as they try to qualify for the 2015 U-20 World Cup.

Orlando City SC defender Tyler Turner has been named to Tab Ramos's 20-man United States U-20 squad for the 2015 CONCACAF Championships, which will be held Jan. 9-24 in Jamaica. While Tyler will be among the six defenders on the team, fellow Lion Tommy Redding was not selected.

"Selecting the final 20 players was extremely difficult," said Ramos. "This is a group that has a lot of depth. It's a group that has gotten good results throughout the last 12 to 14 months, regardless of the players we've had in. A lot of players have made a good case for being on the team, but in the end, unfortunately, you can only take so many (players). I am very happy with the group we've selected.

"Overall, this is a group made up mostly with professional players, and that's a strength. These are players who are completely dedicated to the sport; players who 100 percent of the time prepare to do well, to get better, and be on the National Team."

Turner is one of six players on the U.S. roster representing Major League Soccer, joining Matt Miazga (New York Red Bulls), Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Romain Gall (Columbus Crew), Bradford Jamieson IV (LA Galaxy) and Tommy Thompson (San Jose Earthquakes).

Meanwhile, elsewhere in CONCACAF, 19-year-old Orlando City Designated Player Bryan Rochez has claimed a spot on the Honduran U-20 side.

The CONCACAF Championships will send four teams in all to the 2015 FIFA U-20 World Cup in New Zealand this May-June. Obviously, this could impact Orlando City's roster in the middle of the MLS season.

Fans can watch all five U.S. matches on FOX Sports 2 or follow on Twitter (@ussoccer_ynt).

Here's the complete U.S. roster:

GOALKEEPERS (2): Ethan Horvath (Molde FK), Zack Steffen (SC Freiburg)

DEFENDERS (6): Cameron Carter-Vickers (Tottenham Hotspur), Conor Donovan (N.C. State), Matt Miazga (New York Red Bulls), Shaquell Moore (Unattached), John Requejo (Club Tijuana), Tyler Turner (Orlando City)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Fernando Arce (Club Tijuana), Russell Canouse (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim), Junior Flores (Borussia Dortmund), Romain Gall (Columbus Crew), Lynden Gooch (Sunderland), Emerson Hyndman (Fulham)

FORWARDS (5): Paul Arriola (Club Tijuana), Bradford Jamieson IV (LA Galaxy), Amando Moreno (Club Tijuana), Ben Spencer (Molde FK), Tommy Thompson (San Jose Earthquakes)